15 replies to this topic

#1 vals

vals

Proud member since September 2008

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,169 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 06:26 PM

Help!!! School sent home a notice and of course dd has them. I just called the pharm and am going to get the shampoo. How do I go about fumigating the house and car? What do I need to do? I'm totally new to this. TIA

#2 Gillian

Gillian

Mom to beautiful little Noah

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,082 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 06:36 PM

Rip off bedsheets, all blankets and wash them in HOT water. Stuffed animals and soft toys need to be bagged in garbage bags for 2 weeks. Vaccum all carpet and baseboards. Check the mattress as well and vacuum. I believe there is a powder you can buy for this, but not 100%. When I had it when I was younger the shampoos never worked (unless they are stronger, more effective now) she coated my head in vaseline as it suffocates the live bugs and the nits and kills them instantly. Dawn dish soap was used about 7 times to get the vaseline out, but I was lice free in a free hours. Good luck!

#3 cbarker78

cbarker78

No turning back now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,587 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:33 PM

first of all... deep breath... it really isn't the end of the world!! Sorry but I don't agree with Gillian... that's overkill and really not necessary! 

We dealt with lice at the beginning of August... off the hear, lice cannot live for more than 48 hours. They need blood to live, and they won't live on animals.